a day in the

I work two mornings a week (a total of 8 hours) in a childcare setting. I can bring the boys and they are in separate classrooms from me and from each other. It’s an awesome opportunity to make a little money and give the boys some “independent” social time away from mama. It also gives me 3 days to be with them and do activities.

Since having our second son, who is now 10 months old, I have tried hard to still have special time with our first son (who just turned 3). A couple of Mondays a month, my mom watches the baby so that my oldest and I can have a “date”. I look forward to it because I know that it’s time where I can just enjoy him. So here’s what our day looks like:

5-5:30am Baby wakes up to nurse and I usually snuggle with him and then lay him back down.

6:45am Husband heads to work.

7-7:30am Big guy wakes up and snuggles with me in bed. We chat and then use the potty, brush teeth, and put on underwear to go downstairs.

8:00 We use the antenna on the TV so depending on his wake up time, he usually watches some combination of Wild Kratts, Curious George, Cat in the Hat, and Peg Plus Cat (typically for a total of about 30 minutes). I make breakfast while he watches

8:30am Turn off the TV. Breakfast for big guy and baby wakes up to nurse.

9am Get the big guy dressed and set up to play – or watch a few more minutes of TV – and feed baby solids.

9:30am Either we head to “school” (my part-time job) or on a special Monday, Gramma comes over and big guy and I head out.  Today is one of those special days!

10:30am Arrive at Ray’s Splash Planet for Tot Day! We had a blast for only $3. It was busy but I would totally recommend it. The fact that it was just the big guy and I made it even more special. While we were out, the baby played and then napped from around 10:30-11:30.

12pm Get back home to nurse the baby and feed the big guy some lunch. Gramma hangs out to eat lunch with us and then heads home.

12:30pm Baby eats solids while big guy plays.

1pm-2pm Nap time. If I’m lucky, they overlap. I try to put the baby down first these days. Then I read stories with big guy, talk, and snuggle. I shower and take care of anything that needs to get done.

3-4pm Wake up and time to play. I nurse the baby, feed big guy a snack and sometimes put on a show. He loves Jake and the Neverland Pirates or Dino Dan right now.

4pm Playdate with our best girls (ages 2.5 and 4 months). Today we dipped heart shaped marshmallows in chocolate and then put sprinkles on them. The kids loved it. My friend is such a good mama!

5:45pm Got home and played with Daddy. I prepared dinner and nursed the baby while Daddy “roughhoused” in the living room with the big guy.

6pm Dinner time! We all eat at the table. This is one of my favorite times of the day. Our oldest generally eats what we eat and I’m proud of that. I also love talking about our day.

6:30pm More TV for the big guy. He gets to watch a show or part of a movie.

7pm Bath for big guy. I usually give bath because I love playing with him at this time. It’s nice to have one-on-one too.

7:30pm Bedtime routine for big guy. We take turns but tonight Daddy reads him a few stories from the library and they hang out while I give baby a bath.

8pm I read stories with the baby and then nurse him to sleep by around 8:30 0r 9pm.

9pm Relax and hang out with hubby. We usually chat and watch TV. We try not to eat or use our phones after we put the boys to bed. It just gives us time to wind down.

10-11pm I usually fall asleep and hubs is out by around 11 or 12am. He’s more of a night owl.